California Law on When Employees Must Be Paid
California Labor Code § 204 requires most employees to be paid at least two times a month on dates that are designated in advance by the employer as paydays. The payday for work performed between the 1st and the 15th of the month must be set between the 16th and the 26th of the month. The payday for work performed between the 16th and the last day of the month must be set between the 1st and the 10th of following month. Employees who are paid every week must be paid no more than seven days after the end of each pay period.
For employees classified as “exempt,” such as executive, administrative and professional employees, these employees must be paid at least once per month.
However, overtime wages do not need to be paid until the pay period following the period during which the overtime wages were earned.
Employers that violate these provisions are guilty of a misdemeanor and are subject to fines that start at $100.00 per employee and vary with the number of times the employer commits the violation. Fines for intentional violations start at $200.00.
All employers are legally responsible for making sure their employees are paid the wages they are owed. Unfortunately, wage and hour violations can occur at small companies and large corporations alike. A…
Please note McCormack & Erlich is not handling this class action lawsuit. This blog post is simply reporting the case.
All employees have the right to a workplace that is free from sexual harassment. There are numerous things employers can do to tackle sexual harassment at work, such as having a system…
California struggled with devastating wildfires in 2018. The state now faces the daunting task of figuring out how to manage its forests so that such large-scale disasters do not occur again in…